Senator Eme Ufot Ekaette who represented Akwa Ibom South Senatorial District in the Sixth Senate (2007 – 2011) made her name as a pharmacist. She played outstanding role in the development of pharmacy practice in Nigeria, becoming the first female national president of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria in 1977. She is a member International Federation of Pharmacists, West African Pharmaceutical Federation. She is also a Fellow of the West African Post Graduate College of Pharmacy and a recipient of Merit Award of the PSN, Lagos State branch.

Born July 21, 1945 , Mrs Eme Ekaette attended Banham Memorial School Port Harcourt, Queen’s College, Lagos, Queen’s School Enugu and the University of Ife, now Obafemi Awolowo University, Ife, where she obtained a B.Pharm in 1970. She served as Manager Pharmacy at the NNPC and later Chief Pharmacist at the Military Hospital Lagos. She served as a member of the board of Universal Basic Education Commission and a director in Union Bank.

At the Senate, Senator Eme Ekaette chaired the Women Affairs Development Committee and was member of Local and Foreign Debt, Health and Environment Committees.

Senator Ekaette, Member of the Federal Republic and Lady of Saint Christopher holds the traditional titles of Adiaha Ikpaisong Oruk Anam and Obonganwan Akwa Ibom, bestowed on her in 1991.

Leave a comment